FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 Prize Money

By | June 14, 2017

FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 Prize Money: FIFA has officially announced that a total of USD$20 million as the prize money for the confederations cup will be distributed among the eight participating teams. The total prize money pool is same like 2013 confederations cup in Brazil which had 15% increase compared to 2009 edition which took place in South Africa.

The winners of FIFA Confederations Cup 2017, which will take place in Saint Petersburg on 2 July 2017, will receive USD 4.1m while runnersup will earn $3.6 million. Below is the entire breakdown of Confederations Cup prize money.

FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 Prize Money Distribution

A total of $20 million will be distributed among eight teams whereas $1.5 million is guaranteed for every participating team regardless of results. Fourth place team will pocket $2.5 million. Third place playoff winner will earn $3 million followed by $3.6 million for runners-up and last but not the least $4.1 million for the Champions of 2017 tournament.

Knocked out teams from Group Stages (5th to 8th) $1.7 million
Fourth placed $2.5 million
Third placed $3 million
Runners-up $3.6 million
Champions $4.1 million

How is the FIFA Confederations Cup Prize Money Raised?

FIFA Confederations Pirze money is derived during the traditional FIFA four year cycle which include 1 world cup. During the last cycle FIFA generated record $4.8 billion in revenue from 2011 to 2014 of which half $2.5 million is from the TV rights and other 30% comes from ticketing, marketing rights, hospitality and licensing

After the money has been generated almost half is paid to the FIFA World Cup teams and the remainders are kept for the FIFA Confederations Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *