Fifa Confederations Cup Winners List – List of FIFA Confederations Cup finals

By | June 14, 2017

Fifa Confederations Cup Winners List: Federation International Football de Association Confederations Cup is an international association football tournament for national teams, currently held every four years by FIFA. It is contested by the holders of each of the six (UEFA, CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, CAF, AFC, OFC) regional championships, along with the FIFA World Cup holder and the host nation, to bring the number of teams up to eight.

Since 2005, the tournament has been held in the nation that will host the FIFA World Cup in the following year, acting as a rehearsal for the larger tournament.

In the nine tournaments held, 30 nations have appeared at least once. Of these, eleven have made it to the final match, and five have won. With four titles, Brazil is the most successful World Cup team and also the only nation to have participated in every FIFA Confederations Cup finals tournament. The other former champions are France, with two titles, and Argentina, Denmark and Mexico with one title each.

Fifa Confederations Cup Winners List

Year Host Winner Runner-up Final Match Score
1997 Saudi Arabia Brazil Australia Brazil won by 6-0
1999 Mexico Mexico Brazil Mexico won by 4-3
2001 South Korea, Japan France Japan France won by 1-0
2003 France France Cameroon France won by 1-0
2005 Germany Brazil Argentina Brazil won by 4-1
2009 South Africa Brazil United States Brazil won by 3-2
2013 Brazil Brazil Spain Brazil won by 3-0
2017 Russia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *